College of Engineering Recognizes Faculty Excellence

University Relations

Professors recognized for their excellence include, top from left: Susan Gauch, Qinghua Li, Xiao Liu and Alex Nelson; and below: Chase Rainwater, Heather Walker and Fisher Yu.

College of Engineering Dean Kim Needy honored seven faculty members with Dean’s Awards for Achievement in Teaching, Research and Service at a May 6 faculty meeting. Faculty members were nominated by their departments for outstanding performance in the 2021-22 academic year.

“Our faculty is exceptional in every area, and these faculty members stood out in this competitive environment during an academic year that continued to be challenging due to issues brought on by the pandemic,” said Needy. “I commend all of our faculty, along with these seven leaders, for their dedication to excellence in teaching, research and service.”

The winners are:

Rising Star Award: Xiao Liu, Industrial Engineering.

Collaborative Research Faculty Award: Qinghua Li, Computer Science and Computer Engineering.

John L. Imhoff Outstanding Research Award: Fisher Yu, Electrical Engineering.

John L. Imhoff Award for Outstanding Teaching: Susan Gauch, Computer Science and Computer Engineering.

Outstanding Public Service: Chase Rainwater, Industrial Engineering.

Rising Teacher Award: Alex Nelson, Computer Science and Computer Engineering.

Teaching Award Not Held: Heather Walker, Chemical Engineering.

Comments are closed.