NCAA Women’s Tennis Singles and Doubles Draws Released

CHAMPAGNE, ill. – University of Texas women’s tennis sophomores Kylie Collins and Peyton Stearn will begin action in the 64-man draw at the NCAA Singles Championships on Monday, May 23. The duo of Stearns and freshman Allura Zamaripa open play in the 32-team bracket at the NCAA Doubles Championships on Tuesday, May 24. The NCAA released the individual championship draws on Sunday, complete with opponents and start times for first-round games.

Stearns, No. 2 in the last ITA National Singles (May 4) and seeded No. 2 in the NCAA Singles Championship, will face No. 67 Sydni Ratliff of Ohio State at 7:00 p.m. Central in the first round on Monday. Stearns enters tonight’s NCAA championship game with a 26-2 singles record in the 2022 spring season, including a 16-2 record against nationally ranked opponents. This will mark her second NCAA singles appearance, as she qualified for the knockout stages last year as a rookie.

No. 49 in the latest ITA national singles ranking, Collins will meet No. 3 seed Petra Hule of Florida State at 6:00 p.m. central time in Monday’s first round. Collins enters tonight’s NCAA Championship game with an overall record of 25-10 in singles this year. This is his first career NCAA singles appearance. Last year, Collins partnered with Lulu Sun and advanced to the NCAA Doubles Championship Finals.

Stearns and Zamarripa, No. 11 in the latest ITA National Doubles Ranking (May 4), will face Stanford’s No. 19 Angelica Blake and Connie Ma in the first round on Tuesday (time TBD). Stearns and Zamarripa come into tonight’s NCAA Championship Game with an 11-3 record in doubles this spring. This marks the first NCAA doubles appearance for Stearns and Zamarripa.

The NCAA singles and doubles competition will take place May 23-28 at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Champaign, Illinois. All matches will be best of three sets. Commercial-free scoring and a seven-point, six-game tiebreaker will be used for all games. In doubles, a 10-point tiebreaker will be played instead of a third set.

Comments are closed.